Cyberlearning 2019: Call for Participation

Cyberlearning 2019: Exploring Contradictions in Achieving Equitable Futures
October 3-4, 2019, Westin Alexandria Hotel, Alexandria, VA.
Apply to attend by April 30, 2019

Cyberlearning 2019 will provide opportunities to join colleagues with diverse expertise and perspectives to explore the tensions that arise as research teams expand the boundaries of learning, and explore learning in the context of working with technology. Multimodal data and analytics could improve learning, but at what costs? Robotics can engage learners of all ages, but are learners prepared for the future of work? New technologies can expand learning opportunities, but for whom? Cyberlearning researchers investigate equity, diversity and inclusiveness, but can we make a positive impact at scale? To tackle questions like these, we need opportunities to connect around big ideas and converge many kinds of expertise.

Cyberlearning 2019 will also provide opportunities to strategize around Big Ideas, including those NSF has already prioritized for funding. Existing Cyberlearning projects have emphasized Convergent Science, bringing together computer scientists, learning scientists, data scientists, and experts in diversity, equity and inclusion. There are also opportunities for learning research that addresses Work at the Human Technology Frontier, Harnessing Big Data and INCLUDES, as well as other Big Ideas not yet on the table. Participants will share and learn what has been accomplished in cyberlearning projects, envision future research, and join forces with new colleagues.

Application Information

The application to attend the meeting is now closed, as we have reached capacity. However, talks and panel during the meeting will be webcast. Subscribe for updates or check the Cyberlearning 2019 Meeting Information page for webcast registration information closer to the event.

If you have questions or would like to be placed on the wait list to attend, contact CIRCL convening staff.

The CIRCL Team and Cyberlearning 2019 Co-Chairs and Program Committee

Program Committee

Meeting Co-Chairs:
Cynthia D’Angelo, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
James Lester, North Carolina State University
Tammy Clegg, University of Maryland

Program Committee:
Amar Abbott, Taft College
Matthew Boyer, Clemson University
Peter Brusilovsky, University of Pittsburgh
Andres Henriquez, New York Hall of Science
Steve Hickman, Riverside County Office of Education
Christopher Hoadley, New York University
Sherry Hsi, Concord Consortium
Yanghee Kim, Northern Illinois University
Erin Walker, University of Pittsburgh
Marcelo Worsley, Northwestern University
Nesra Yannier,Carnegie Mellon University

CIRCL Staff:
Jeremy Roschelle, Digital Promise
Judith Fusco, Digital Promise
Patricia Schank, Digital Promise
Quinn Burke, Digital Promise
Sarita Nair-Pillai, Education Development Center
Joyce Malyn-Smith, Education Development Center
Sarah MacGillivray, Education Development Center
Wendy Martin, Education Development Center
Shari Gardner, SRI International