Cyberlearning 2017: Call for Participation

April 18-19, 2017, Westin Arlington Gateway, Arlington, VA.
Apply to attend by January 16, 2017 (deadline extended)

Dear Colleague,

We invite applications to attend Cyberlearning 2017: What’s Next? Making Connections to Shape the Future, which will take place April 18-19, 2017 at the Westin Arlington Gateway in Arlington, VA. Approximately 150 leading researchers along with students, educators, designers, industry experts, and other stakeholders will work together for two days at Cyberlearning 2017 to accelerate the community’s collective work and impact. Cyberlearning 2017 builds upon four prior successful meetings (2012-16), which inspired the community to identify issues of common interest and ignited joint efforts among participants. Today Cyberlearning research is thriving, yet the community faces potential changes in how its research is supported and organized.

Cyberlearning 2017 will facilitate connections among Cyberlearning researchers across disciplines and with practitioners and stakeholders. Together, attendees will envision a strong path forward for cyberlearning research, taking into account their aspirations and today’s uncertainties. The program will provide opportunities to share insights on cyberlearning designs, genres, and research methods. Building on strong interest and expertise in issues of equity and access within the community, we will enrich our understanding of how to design for diverse learners and settings. Attendees will work together to understand newly emerging science and technology as well as to envision addressing societal challenges and opportunities for impact. Information about future funding opportunities will be presented, and participants will have opportunities to meet new colleagues and form teams to tackle future challenges.

Building on the innovative program format used in past meetings, Cyberlearning 2017 will feature a variety of opportunities to engage with colleagues, such as:

  • Interacting around project work in a round table, poster/demo gallery, or video showcase
  • Sharing professional knowledge in an expertise exchange
  • Connecting to colleagues with different disciplines or specialties via networking activities
  • Participating in small group discussions that synergistically tackle challenges of mutual interest
  • Synthesizing what has been learned in particular genres of cyberlearning research
  • Reflecting on stimulating keynote presentations
  • Developing ideas and recommendations for next steps for the Cyberlearning community

We encourage participation from researchers with NSF projects with a cyberlearning theme as well as teachers, informal educators, foundation program directors, technologists, designers, graduate students, and other stakeholders.

Cyberlearning 2017 is sponsored by the National Science Foundation and hosted by the Center for Innovative Research in Cyberlearning (CIRCL). There is no cost to attend the event, but attendees must book and pay for their own travel and hotel. Participants are expected to commit to the 2 full days of the meeting. Preference for in-person attendance will be given to applicants who offer to share tangible insights and to be actively involved before, during, and after the meeting. For those who cannot attend in person, portions of the meeting will be webcast to allow some virtual participation.


The application to attend the meeting is now closed, as we have reached capacity. However, talks and panel during the meeting will be webcast. Subscribe for updates or check the Cyberlearning 2017 Meeting Information page for webcast registration information closer to the event.

If you have questions or would like to be placed on the wait list to attend, contact CIRCL convening staff.

The CIRCL Team and Cyberlearning 2017 Program Committee

Program Committee

Meeting Co-Chairs:
Jeremy Roschelle, SRI International
Stephanie Teasley, University of Michigan, School of Information
Gautam Biswas, Vanderbilt University, School of Engineering

Program Committee:
Jodi Asbell-Clarke, TERC
Kristy Boyer, University of Florida
Marcela Borge, Penn State
Corey Brady, Inquire Learning, LLC
Sarah Costello, San Francisco Day School
Lyla Mae Crawford, University of Washington
Sidney D’Mello, University of Notre Dame
Matt Easterday, Northwestern University
Muztaba Fuad, Winston-Salem State University
Janice Gobert, Rutgers University
Yasmin Kafai, University of Pennsylvania
Lin Lin, University of North Texas
Alejandra Magana, Purdue University
Ray Rose, Rose & Smith Associates
John Stamper, Carnegie Mellon University

CIRCL Staff:
Sarita Nair-Pillai, Education Development Center
Joyce Malyn-Smith, Education Development Center
Bernadette Sibuma, Education Development Center
Melody Hachey, Education Development Center
Sarah MacGillivray, Education Development Center
Judith Fusco, SRI International
Patricia Schank, SRI International
Cynthia D’Angelo, SRI International
Shuchi Grover, SRI International