Cyberlearning 2016: Call for Participation

January 25-26, 2016, Westin Arlington Gateway, Arlington, VA

We invite you to apply to attend Cyberlearning 2016: Designing for Deeper, Broader, and More Equitable Learning, which will take place January 25-26, 2016 at the Westin Arlington Gateway in Arlington, VA. Approximately 150 leading researchers along with students, educators, designers, industry experts, and other stakeholders will work together for two days at Cyberlearning 2016 to accelerate the community’s collective work and impact. Cyberlearning 2016 builds upon three prior successful meetings in 2015, 2014, and 2013, which inspired the community to identify issues of common interest and ignited joint efforts among participants.

Informed by the learning sciences, cyberlearning is the design and use of innovative technology to create effective new learning experiences that were never possible or practical before, making learning opportunities deeper, more equitable, and more broadly available. Together, we will seek to address important questions and issues, such as:

  • How can cyberlearning help empower the next generation of diverse learners?
  • How can we create innovative technologies that draw upon sound theories of learning through productive collaborations among researchers, designers, learners, and formal and informal educators?
  • How can we foster an inclusive design community that balances real world problems and settings with promising cyberlearning approaches?
  • How can we integrate contributions from multiple research projects for broader impact (e.g., combining our theories or combining our tools into a common infrastructure)?

Cyberlearning 2016 will feature 3-4 stimulating keynotes as well as opportunities to engage in a variety of formats, such as:

  • Interacting around project work in a round table, poster/demo gallery, or video showcase,
  • Growing professional knowledge in an expertise exchange, either sharing your expertise or learning from other attendees,
  • Meeting new colleagues via networking activities,
  • Participating in working group discussions that synergistically tackle one of the four key issues,
  • Developing ideas and recommendations for next steps for the Cyberlearning community,
  • Opportunities to share information through a legislative visit to your congressperson.

We encourage participation from researchers with NSF projects with a cyberlearning theme as well as teachers, informal educators, foundation program directors, technologists, designers, graduate students, and other stakeholders. In particular, the application encourages researchers with projects to nominate a non-Principal Investigator “buddy” (such as an educator, student, or a leader at an institution that serves diverse learners) who could jointly attend the meeting and enrich our deliberations. Travel expenses will be reimbursed for a limited number of buddies.

Cyberlearning 2016 is sponsored by the National Science Foundation and hosted by the Center for Innovative Research in Cyberlearning (CIRCL). There is no cost to attend the event, but attendees must book and pay for their own travel and hotel. Participants are expected to commit to the 2 full days of the meeting. Preference for in-person attendance will be given to applicants who offer to share tangible insights and to be actively involved before, during, and after the meeting. For those who cannot attend in person, portions of the meeting will be webcast to allow some virtual participation.


The application to attend the meeting is now closed, as we have reached capacity. However, talks and panel during the meeting will be webcast. Subscribe for updates or check the Cyberlearning 2016 Meeting Information page for webcast registration information closer to the event.

The CIRCL Team and Cyberlearning 2016 Program Committee

Program Committee

Meeting Co-Chairs:
Jeremy Roschelle, SRI International
Wendy Martin, Education Development Center

Program Committee:
Lauren Goldenberg, New York City Department of Education, Research & Policy Support Group
Natalie Harr Ylizarde, 2013-2015 NSF Einstein Fellow and doctoral student, University of Maryland
Andee Rubin, TERC and Cyberlearning 2015 Co-Chair
Kemi Jona, Northwestern University
Matthias Hauswirth, University of Lugano, Switzerland
Margaret Hennessey, North Carolina State University
Mike Eisenberg, University of Colorado, Boulder
Kip Glazer, Kern High School District, California
Stephanie Teasley, University of Michigan and CIRCL Advisor
June Ahn, College of Information Studies and College of Education, University of Maryland
+ members of the CIRCL team